Six Scholars Receive Competitive Research Awards

CenterPoint Newsletter | Summer 2017 | by Dr. Matthew Della Sala, McNair/AANAPISI Research Advisor

Although many students make use of the summer term to enroll in additional coursework and participate in relevant internships, some students seek external funding to support their desire to conduct research. One prestigious award offered to students from all NSHE institutions is the National Science Foundation-Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research-Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program (NSF-EPSCoR-UROP). This highly competitive program promotes research opportunities to enhance the recruitment and retention of undergraduates in STEM disciplines. As such, the award ($4,000 stipend and funds for supplies) offers undergraduate students the financial support to conduct high-quality, scientific research under the guidance of faculty mentors.

Of the twenty-six summer research grants awarded to undergraduates across the state of Nevada, five of them were granted to McNair and AANAPISI participants. Additionally, only ten awards were funded to support undergraduates for the upcoming academic year (Fall & Spring semesters)—one of those ten, and the only student from UNLV to receive the award, is also a McNair Scholar. Below is the list of UNLV students funded for research:

McNair Award Recipients

  • Andrew Darby (Summer), Biology
  • Isaiah Henry (Academic Year), Mechanical Engineering

AANAPISI Award Recipients

  • Camille Catelo (Summer), Nursing
  • Kevin Chau (Summer), Chemistry
  • Cassandra Dasmarinas (Summer), Anthropology
  • Sean Medina (Summer), Biology

We are very excited for all of the EPSCoR-UROP recipients! This is a great accomplishment and we wish them the best during the summer!